Bookshops: MacLeod’s

Imagine a bookshop with shelves of books – old and new. Imagine the touch of books that have been around for decades intermingling with contemporary books – trust me, it’s not as gross as that may sound. I have always wanted to visit a bookshop and just browse for an entire day. Peruse and see if I can find a treasure amongst all those shelves. It was something that I did a little research for in preparation for my Paris trip but when the time came – when I actually found this amazing Parisian bookshop – I didn’t go in. Because I was with my parents and sister and I did not want them waiting for me. And so… I never fulfilled that dream. Luckily with D, she did not mind spending a little time in MacLeod’s with me – we just randomly happened upon it. We spent at most an hour inside and came out with a book each. Although I really wanted to find a copy of Anne of Green Gables, I didn’t find one that I wanted to have in my collection. But I loved how they had a little corner in the store of all books related to L. M. Montgomery.

IMG_4706

IMG_4701

IMG_4702
The book I bought is here on this shelf. Any guesses as to which spine caught my eye?

IMG_4703

IMG_4704

IMG_4705

For those of you in love with books and visiting Vancouver, definitely visit MacLeod’s (Richards St and W Pender St). It was the perfect way to spend an hour away from the rainy Vancouver day.

Honestly, if I ever need a hiatus from the teaching career that I’ve barely started… someone please find me a quaint little bookshop to work in. Bookshop, not book store – working at Indigo Chapters is not exactly what I have in mind.

If anyone knows of any great bookshops in Toronto, I would love to go and spend an afternoon there. Let me know.

Leave a Reply

