Gwanghwamun Hope Sharing Flea Market

Today, J and I went to a flea market I found out about at Gwanghwamun Square. The street was closed off so that this special market could run and pedestrians could walk through the streets. There were special parts of the market with many activities for kids and a foreigner’s market as well. Most of the stalls were run by Koreans – many of them were used clothes, toys, and jewellery. We found a little stretch of stalls for books – and this is where I finally bought the Korean editions of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – curiousily enough, it is separated into two books. I’m not sure if I’ll ever be able to read them – I’ll need to really pick up on my Korean language learning. I also bought another Korean edition of an English book as a gift for someone back home.

As we were leaving the market, we were approached by two Korean young men who wanted J to act in a little skit where he pretended to be a potential buyer of a soccer ball. J agreed. And while it was a little amusing to watch, I’m curious as to what this video clip will be used for.

IMG_6492

IMG_6496

IMG_6497

IMG_6498

IMG_6499

IMG_6500

IMG_6501

IMG_6502

IMG_6503

IMG_6504

Leave a Reply

