COEX Aquarium

If I had to choose one word to describe the Aquarium at COEX in Seoul, I’d choose “strange.” While I did love the turtles, jellyfish, and fishes, the part of the trip that really stood out in my mind was the prairie dogs. Out of all animals to have in an aquarium, it was something that I did not expect at all. I’m not even sure if I’ve ever seen a prairie dog in all my previous zoo and aquarium excursions. They were the cutest and most adorable little things.

I think it was the first time I’ve been to a themed aquarium. There’s the “Fish in Wonderland” exhibition in the aquarium where fish are incorporated into everyday life and put into house fixtures and the like. Strange… in an amusing way.

Another part of the aquarium that I really liked – but imagined better in my head – was the undersea tunnel where you can walk in an acrylic tunnel through a huge tank of sharks and sea turtles. I’ve always loved undersea tunnels.

IMG_6556

IMG_6557
I was more fascinated by the snail surrounded by the fish than the fish themselves.

IMG_6558

IMG_6559

IMG_6560

IMG_6562
Koi pond with a miniature pagoda.
IMG_6565
Fish in Wonderland exhibit…notice the baseball?
IMG_6567
There are squirrels at the aquarium…

IMG_6568

IMG_6569

IMG_6571
Prairie dogs’ Martial Arts Center.
IMG_6572
Prairie dogs!
IMG_6573
You’ve got mail… and Spiderman and fish.
IMG_6576
The underbelly of fishes.

IMG_6579

IMG_6581

IMG_6583
It’s a beaver – national animal of Canada!

IMG_6584

IMG_6585
Croc’s afternoon nap.

IMG_6589

IMG_6591

IMG_6594

IMG_6598

IMG_6600

IMG_6606
Manatee.
IMG_6609
The undersea tunnel.
IMG_6611
Jellyfish love.

IMG_6612

IMG_6614

Leave a Reply

