Lotus Lantern Festival

I missed the main festivities of the Lotus Lantern Festival on Saturday because we chose to go to the Dream Concert instead. Luckily, the festival was a weekend-long event and we had the chance to go on Sunday when there were cultural activities and performances still happening. It was a beautiful day to be out in Seoul and we all enjoyed different aspects of the festival.

IMG_6821
Tap dancing performance
IMG_6822
Korean fan dance
IMG_6823
Ddakji – Korean game
IMG_6826
Wishes and prayers of the people gathered

IMG_6828

IMG_6829
Tea tasting
IMG_6830
Different Buddhisms had presentations at the festival — this one was the Thai Buddhism
IMG_6833
Catching a smaller parade procession of lanterns
IMG_6834
Jogyesa

My favourite part of the afternoon was going to Jogyesa. I love lanterns and seeing them all strung up like a canopy in the sky was beautiful. It’s always been something I wanted to see and even though I have, it’s sort of like the cherry blossoms – I don’t think I’d get sick of them.

IMG_6835

IMG_6836

IMG_6837

IMG_6838

IMG_6839

IMG_6840

IMG_6841

IMG_6842

IMG_6843

IMG_6844

IMG_6846

IMG_6848
Lotus flower I made at the festival
IMG_6849
Lotus lantern I made ^^
Leave a Reply

