KTX: Seoul to Busan

Although there is so much of Seoul to see still, there are also a lot of places in Korea that I have read about and wanted to go to. But it took us a little over four months to finally make our way out of Seoul.

As a foreigner in Korea, we were able to take advantage of the KR Pass for the KTX. I bought a 3 day youth pass (for those ages 13-25), which is a definite bargain compared to the original ticket prices. It cost 67,700 won for as much train travel for three days – even though we only needed two tickets. This is compared to 40,700 for a standard one-way ticket to Busan.

I haven’t been on a train since I was 10 years old. And even then, my memory of that train ride is very vague. A part of me is even doubting whether it was a moving train or just an idle train car for tourists to get on.

The KTX experience wasn’t bad. I don’t have much train experience as I’ve mentioned. The only thing I wasn’t a fan of was sitting backwards during the ride there and the ride back. I get motion sickness in that position so I had to sleep off most of the ride.

I was glad that I got to experience the train for the first time with friends – because now I feel a little more secure and comfortable for any trips I may wish to take on my own.

Untitled

Untitled

4 comments

    • Hmmm, well if you do, I can help you and Mish prepare for it. But I won’t be able to go with you. Unless we go on the weekend. But we’re going to the DMZ, no?

Leave a Reply

