[NOW CLOSED] Hello Kitty Cafe, Hyehwa

Update: this location is now closed but the new Hongdae location is really really awesome. It’s in a house completely painted in pink. 

If you’re going to be in Asia, I think going to a Hello Kitty Cafe is a must. If only for the experience. I don’t think I’ve ever been in a place that was as pink as this. This particular Hello Kitty Cafe is in the Hyehwa subway station area, which we chose to go to since it was closer to where we all lived and it was a weekday night. From what I know, it’s not as popular as the ones in Hongdae and Sinchon, perhaps because of its area. Hyehwa isn’t as populated with tourists, especially on a Thursday night. Still, it was still a very Hello-Kitty experience with all its charm of the little cartoon character.

IMG_7623

IMG_7624

IMG_7625

IMG_7626

The interior was all very pink and white. I loved the little sofas that were in the shapes of Hello Kitty’s head.

IMG_7627

IMG_7629

IMG_7630

Hello Kitty wifi and a warning not to leave graffiti. From what I’ve picked up on blogs, there seems to be a lot of graffiti at the Hongdae area and clearly this Hyehwa branch is keeping its customers from scribbling on their walls.

IMG_7631

IMG_7632

IMG_7634

IMG_7635

The boy ordered a Hello Kitty caramel waffle and a hot vanilla latte.

IMG_7636

IMG_7637

I ordered the Hello Kitty rare cheesecake and an iced vanilla latte. I was a little surprised that they still do the little Hello Kitty on top for the iced vanilla latte. I would have changed to a hot one in that case. But luckily I didn’t need to. If you’re going to be at a Hello Kitty Cafe, you might as well have everything properly Hello-Kittified.

IMG_7638

All in all, it was a good night out with the two Js. I’m not sure if I’d make this our usual hangout spot like girl J suggested, but it was fun. It would be interesting to see what the other two locations are like as well, which I’ll post about once I do get the chance to go as well.

IMG_7639

2 comments

Leave a Reply

