Cookin’ NANTA

Through the Cultural Event of the Month program by KOCIS, the boy and I got tickets to see a performance of NANTA. If there’s one thing you should know about it, it’s this – it was amazing.

Untitled

Untitled

NANTA is a nonverbal (or limited verbal) musical show that involves kitchen utensils, food (“onion, cucumber, carrot, melon, cabbage”), drumming, gymnastics, knife skills, martial arts, magic, slapstick humour, singing and harmonizing, dancing (plus a little Gangnam style), audience participation, and all-around entertainment for people of all ages. The musical is set in a kitchen of the NANTA restaurant where the chefs have just been told they have only an hour to prepare a ten-course wedding banquet – with the manager’s nephew thrown into the kitchen. “Six o’clock!” And the chaos, hilarity and entertainment has just started.

Untitled

I don’t think I’ve ever laughed as much as I did at a live show and I’ve been to comedy shows before. NANTA had me clapping, stomping my feet, cheering, and laughing until I cried. It was an amazing show and it’s not hard to understand why it’s been a running show since 1997. The fact that it was a free show and we got VIP seats was the cherry on top. (It pays to show up a little earlier to pick up tickets.) But I would have paid its regular ₩40,000-60,000 to watch the show and still felt like it was worth it. This is, of course, my personal opinion. So if you’re in Seoul and you have a hankering to watch a show while you’re here- one that you don’t even need to know Korean to understand and enjoy- I highly recommend NANTA.

Untitled

One comment

Leave a Reply

