Impromptu Trip to Nami Island

My cousin from HK recently arrived in Seoul for a week-long business trip. She had a Sunday free and we promised to meet up. Unfortunately, we hadn’t decided on any where to go and so, shortly after 11am on the day, she decided that she wanted to get out of the city and go to Nami Island. I was a little bit wary about it since I had to return to work the next day and felt like Nami Island was a little big for a half day trip. But since I only had a day with her, I agreed and after some trouble with the subway/ITX, we made our way to Chuncheon.

Untitled
We took the ferry across to the island in the middle of the Han River, rather than the zipline option. I would have been up for it but I thought she had been joking (she tends to joke – a lot) when she first suggested it. Nevertheless, it was a nice and short ferry ride.

Untitled
Ever since I’ve been in Korea, I’ve started to have this liking to strange and freaky little sculptures. Like the ones in Jeju Island and there were all sort of other little sculptures on Nami Island. Some of them I believe were meant to depict the Korean people and life.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled
This little Korean traditional house is a miniature size. Which I realize is hard to tell, and thus I’ve included a photo with me standing by it for the proper context. It was the cutest thing ever and I’d have loved to actually see one of these Korean traditional houses. Perhaps they still exist out in the Korean countryside?

Untitled

Untitled
I love love love tree-lined lanes and paths. And I do believe that it’s for this reason that Nami Island is now my new favourite place in Korea. Guess where I’ll be returning to once or twice more before the year ends?

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled
At the moment, there is a Jeju World Book event happening and thus, all around the island, you can find books from different countries around the world for you to browse and read. I think the honest system is amazing in Korea. And given the chance, I’d love to just spend awhile reading in the serenity that is Nami.

Untitled
This was outside the restaurant that we ate at. And here you see a sign of how Nami Island became such a tourist destination. It started with a popular Korean drama back in the 2002, called Winter Sonata. I’ve never seen the drama myself but have heard about it since forever. Thus, because of this drama, there are little sculptures of two snowmen everywhere. From what I’ve gathered, it’s from a romantic scene in the drama. Even without watching the drama, I’m totally loving the little snowmen.

Untitled
You can get some black bean steamed breads that is properly steamed by a traditional Korean steamer.

Untitled
Some of the cute things you can buy for souvenirs on the island. I’ve already got my eye on a scheduler, magnets, postcards, and the like. Perhaps on my next visit.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled
For those wishing to stay on the island for a night or longer, there is the Nami Island Hotel or other available accommodations for very reasonable prices. Some of these individual accommodations were so cute – little cabins or bungalows.

Untitled

Untitled
Until next time, Nami. I’ll be back real soon.

Untitled

2 comments

Leave a Reply

