Seoul Fortress Wall: Hyehwamun to Bukaksan

This is going to be my last Seoul Fortress Wall trail post. In this last leg of my walk along the fortress wall, I started at Hyehwamun, which is right by Hangsung University subway station. This gate is unlike a lot of the other gates in the city – sort of hidden and on the side – completely surrounded by the development of the city.

Untitled

In walking along the Seoul fortress wall, I was apparently also doing a part of the alley walking course in Hyehwa-dong. One could follow this walking course and see a lot of culturally and historically-important buildings in the surrounding area.

Untitled

The view is quite spectacular and how I always pictured the Korean neighbourhoods. I feel like my neighbourhood consists of mostly high rise apartment buildings and this felt different – being able to see all the rooftops and the buildings being built along the slopes of the landscape.

Untitled

Finding a little piece of home. This area has many embassies and the diplomatic residences are all around here.

Untitled

Almost like an official pathway on the fortress wall trail. Good thing too since I was starting to feel a little lost at this point.

Untitled

Untitled

After many stone steps, icy paths right beside the walls, and wooden stairs that never seemed to end, I came to a pretty spectacular viewpoint of Seoul.

Untitled

But I still hadn’t reached my destination. I kept walking and I was a little intrigued by the traditional building I saw in the distance. Which I would eventually end up at. (Check out my later post about Samcheonggak.

Untitled

A little further ahead was the Malbawi Information Center, where I got my last stamp and commemorative badge for the Seoul Fortress Wall. I decided to also enter the Seoul City Wall of Mt. Bukaksan. In order to enter this section of the wall, you need to submit your id as this is a military-supervised area. I had no idea of the history behind this area before I came here. Long history shortened: North Korean troops invading to assassinate the former South Korean president on the other side of Bukaksan.

I decided to end my short walk of the Bukaksan segment of the city wall at Sukjeongmun.

Untitled

Seoul Fortress Trail stamp tour, completed. This has been a great way to challenge myself to see the city in a different perspective. And while I didn’t walk the entire trail – walking around the entire city is very daunting – I still feel a sort of accomplishment. For anyone interested in this, you can pick up the map from any tourist information centers around the city. There are only four stamps to collect: Heunginjimun, Donuimun, Sungryemun, and Sukjeongmun.

Untitled

Leave a Reply

