Ghibli Museum

Insert Ghibli theme music here… Dream come true.

I’ve only been talking and dreaming of coming to the Studio Ghibli in Tokyo since I first knew that such a thing existed. It was everything that I imagined and more. Completely amazing experience. And I’m actually okay with the fact that there is no photography allowed inside the museum. It might take away from the mystery and wonder of the place. Because that’s what the museum was like – full of wonder, much like Ghibli films.

And to begin the journey, of course you should take the Ghibli bus. I was sort of hoping for it to look more like the cat bus… but a really cool cat bus play area was within the museum for children to climb in and play. Adults not allowed… bummer.

IMG_9327

IMG_9328

IMG_9358

IMG_9329

IMG_9330

IMG_9331

IMG_9332

IMG_9333

IMG_9334

IMG_9337

One of the highlights of the trip is, of course, the Laputan robot on the roof of the museum. It’s so cool. I wish it came to life… that’s not strange, is it?

IMG_9338

Untitled

And then there’s a little path through the trees behind the robot that you can venture through and come across…

IMG_9341

the stone that controls all of Laputa. Now, if only I had the volucite crystal to activate it.

IMG_9344

IMG_9352

IMG_9353

IMG_9357

The Ghibli Museum Cafe, or Straw Hat Cafe, was a cute little cafe. I wasn’t too hungry at this time so I just had a nice cup of hot tea. It was a relaxing little place and I loved how everything on the menu was organic and all the ingredients are grown on the farm.

IMG_9350

IMG_9346

IMG_9347

IMG_9348

Basically… best part of my Tokyo trip. Hands down. For any Ghibli fans… it’s definitely worth the visit. Go to Tokyo just for the museum if you want. I totally would be back next time I’m in/near the city.

Leave a Reply

