Tenryu-ji Temple in Kyoto

I love the name of this temple. Tenryu-ji can be literally translated to sky dragon temple. It just sounds so grand.

IMG_0605

IMG_0607

One of the loveliest things about visiting temples in Japan is how serene, tranquil, and beautiful they are. Even the little temple buildings are so pretty.

IMG_0610

The main temple building – check out the face at the top of the building. A little foreboding. Perhaps that’s the sky dragon that the name refers to?

IMG_0614

IMG_0616

IMG_0618

There is a beautiful little pond in the garden behind the temple building. (For those who wish to visit here, keep in mind that the entrance fee to the temple and the garden are separate.) If you only wish to visit one, I’d suggest the garden because you can still see inside the temple building from the garden.

IMG_0620

IMG_0627

Sometimes when I’m traveling, I feel like I’m rushing from place to place, getting everything checked off my itinerary. But I think I like how people travel in Japan – they’ll just sit and relax and take in everything that they’re looking at.

IMG_0631

IMG_0632

IMG_0635

Behind the temple garden are these beautiful bamboo trees. Any guesses as to where my Japan adventures led me to next?

IMG_0640

Stay tuned for the next post. πŸ™‚

IMG_0641

5 comments

Leave a Reply

