Kinkakuji Temple in Kyoto

I love checking out the gates of temples. I thought that the ones to the Kinkaku-ji were different – they’re quite understated and it’s not connected. Usually they’re red and the typical torii gate style.

IMG_0707

IMG_0709

I’m not an expert on architecture but I’ve always appreciated a good roof when I see one. I love the details.

IMG_0712

Unlike the Ginkaku-ji (Silver Pavilion), the Kinkaku-ji (Golden Pavilion) really is gold. How strange but cool is that?

IMG_0714

IMG_0717

IMG_0720

Check out the phoenix roof ornament.

IMG_0722

IMG_0724

IMG_0728

IMG_0730

You can easily get a Japanese fortune at temples in Japan.

IMG_0731

But this was the only temple that I visited that had fortunes in different languages – English, Korean, and Chinese.

IMG_0732

Of course, we needed to have our written oracle told…

IMG_0733

I have excellent fortune. If you were to get a bad fortune, you are to leave it tied on the strings at the temple – literally and symbolically casting aside the bad fortune.

IMG_0734

Leave a Reply

