Fushimi Inari Shrine in Kyoto: Red Gates of Wonderland

After the Arashiyama bamboo grove, I was even more excited to get to the Fushimi Inari shrine. I’ve been fascinated with the red torii gates ever since I first watched Memoirs of a Geisha. I was keeping my cool (for the most part) for the temple part…

IMG_0763

IMG_0766

IMG_0767

IMG_0771

IMG_0772

IMG_0774

And then I saw the very first of the gates. I was ready to freak out. But either way… let’s just say that I was going to get the most out of it. And I earned the badge of ‘patience’ from this day.

IMG_0775

IMG_0777

IMG_0780

IMG_0781

IMG_0783

IMG_0786

IMG_0788

IMG_0789

IMG_0790

IMG_0800

IMG_0803

It was like a dream. In fact, I’m sure I’ve dreamed about running through the gates like little Chiyo did in the movie. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, go watch the movie. And honestly, I was worried that I was expecting too much from it. That there was no way it could be as cool as seeing it in the movie. And I was wrong. It was absolutely amazing. It’s like finding Wonderland through the red torii gates. No crawling through a rabbit hole for me. Anyways, we were always staking out a section of the gates and waiting for there to be no one so that we could get some pictures. It wasn’t easy. It took a lot of time. It was totally worth it.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

I will not even attempt to post all my running photos. It was only slightly embarrassing. And I couldn’t quite replicate the movie scene but it was exhilarating to try anyways.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

