From the Forest to the Sea: Emily Carr in British Columbia @ the AGO

I’ve always loved Canadian art, especially those of the Group of Seven. So when I found out about the Emily Carr exhibition at the AGO, I knew that I needed to go. As my friend and I made our way to the exhibition, a name caught my eye – Tom Thomson. Little did I know – there is an ongoing gallery of Tom Thomson’s two iconic paintings on display as well. So we made a little detour first.

UntitledUntitled

Untitled

Seeing the Tom Thomson paintings was amazing. I cannot recall how many times I’ve seen and read about the paintings in books for school and leisure. And seeing them in person was somewhat surreal. Nevertheless, it got me more excited for Emily Carr and seeing her work. I’ll be honest and admit that I don’t know much about Emily Carr. I had no knowledge of the travel and work she’s done along the Northwest Coast. The exhibition was definitely an eye-opening experience and seeing her work change according to her studies, work, and environment was amazing.

Untitled

UntitledUntitled

UntitledUntitled

Untitled

I love the colour and emotion of the paintings. It’s quite amazing to me how mcuh a tree can evoke.

See this exhibition for yourself – it’s on display at the AGO until August 9, 2015.

AGO’s website here.

Also, if you’re a teacher in Ontario, you can sign up and register with the TAP program – free admission into AGO!

Leave a Reply

